what heights of love, what depths of peace

Today, I started a blog.

I like to journal, but I don’t like lined paper.  It’s limiting and confining, and the pictures and melodies in my head just don’t fit between the bars.  So we’ll see how this goes.

I wish I could describe the last week of my life, but I know before I begin that my words will trip over each other and will fall utterly short of the beauty, peace, pain, fellowship, and joy that I’ve experienced. So much happens in an hour these days, that each time I slip my feet under my big green comforter at night I feel a year older.

Do you ever look back after a time of intense growth and wonder at how you could have doubted God’s power in your life?  How you questioned His ability to change your circumstances because you thought you had exhausted all prospects?  Yep, I’m definitely feeling that today. And in the midst of my retrospect, I’m in awe of God’s sovereign powers of restoration, His touch of Beauty, and His delight in His people.

Have you ever been walking through well-known woods and gotten lost in thought, only to realize that you’ve stepped out of your well-worn path and onto new terrain?  And then, when you round the corner, you step out of the woods and into a vast meadow filled with sunlight, and the breeze through the tall grass, and ripe fruit on ancient trees, and only clear, open, air above you; and you wonder how you could’ve missed this before, how close you were all that time, and how you had finally reached a place you want to stay and rest?  This is the only way I can describe the past seven days.

Because of the grace of God, the candor and sincerity of two of my dearest friends, and a simple walk to the cafe down the hill, my life is filled with many great things. Why God has chosen to bless me in such a special way only pushes me deeper into the joy of seeking Him.

God, I want to bless Your holy and precious name with my life.

I want my every moment to point to the deeper beauty and majesty that You’ve sown into the world, as You wait for fools like me to stumble upon the paradox of having found You but still be searching for You.

Exodus 15.2  The Lord is my strength and my song, and He has become my salvation; this is my God, and I will praise Him, my father’s God, and I will exalt Him.

Don’t fall asleep tonight before you ask God to reveal Himself to you in a new way.  He answers prayers.  Just be prepared to get what you ask for.

One thought on “what heights of love, what depths of peace

  1. You could not write these words, know these thoughts, or carry these feelings if God had not moved you into the place that you are. What a grand place it is!
    Can I come to the meadow and visit, for it is too lofty a state for me to live forvever, isn’t it? This life would surely pass me by; for my head would be in the clouds, my face would be looking constantly upwards, and my God would be carrying me ever so tenderly through this meadow of grace. We will skip, and romp, and run with fervor to the Throne of the King, for we are His daughters! Can I come for a visit? How I long to.

Leave a Reply

