nostalgia.

This might sound strange, but God showed me something about myself.

A main way that I worship Him is through remembering.

My heart just swells when I hear songs or see pictures or relive memories, not just with a nostalgic feeling, but a remembrance of just how God has brought me to where I am today.  Thinking back to people and places that have shaped who I am inspires in me a desire to worship this all-powerful and all-knowing God.  A personal, a Living God, a God who speaks, a God who has known me more deeply than I can fathom, a God who loves me so fiercely that He gives me life against all odds. And a wonderful life, at that.

I thought this was unusual at first, but then I realized that Israel’s kind of in the same boat.

“Remember these things, O Jacob,
for you are my servant, O Israel.
I have made you, you are my servant;
O Israel, I will not forget you.” (Is 44:21)

“You shall remember that you were a slave in the land of Egypt, and the LORD your God brought you out from there with a mighty hand and an outstretched arm.” (Deut 5:15)

“Remember the wondrous works that he has done,
his miracles and the judgments he uttered,
O offspring of Israel his servant,
sons of Jacob, his chosen ones!” (II Ch 16:12-3)

We’re supposed to remember.

__________________________

(this could be a double post, but I don’t want to be that girl)

Brooke Waggoner, from Come Love, See My Hands:


I don’t know why I plant these
And fashion them from slices of earth
I guess I’m slave to the spirit
Of needing to create and give birth.

ἀμήν.

One thought on “nostalgia.

  1. Oh, man. Way to drop Greek at the end of your post.

    This is sort of what next year’s theme at Grace is all about. Remembering how God has been authoring our lives up to this point. I have/get to write an account of this over the summer. I’m looking forward to it, I think it will be really worshipful.

    ἠρήνη

Leave a Reply

